Good to Self, Good to Earth

trying on more healthy ways of being, day by day

Day 1 — The “No-Poo” Method

Leave a comment

Today is Day 1 of my process, although I suppose I technically started preparations as of yesterday.
I went to the store and bought a large bottle of Apple Cider Vinegar and a box of Baking Soda.  I also found a glass jar that my step-dad had so fortuitously saved and set aside for me for some reason just a few days before.
(This was my “sign” that the time had come!)

Last night I also cut some aloe from my plant, named Grandma, and used it as a conditioning mask for my hair before I began this whole process (if you don’t have an aloe plant, i would highly recommend that you get one, but more on that later).

Today I took my glass jar to the shower with me and before I got in, I placed a little less than 1Tbsp of Baking soda in it (because I have fairly short hair).  When I got in the shower I filled the jar with a little less than 1cup of warm water and then closed the jar and shook it up.  I poured the liquid over my head in small portions across all different areas and massaged it into my hair and scalp for a few moments before letting it sit.  I counted about a minute, rinsed and then completed the same process with the vinegar only focusing more on the tips of my hair when rubbing it in.

I was a little worried because it felt pretty oily after the baking soda part, but I wondered if maybe I just didn’t use enough.  It felt much silkier after the vinegar though and now that it is dry it feels quite clean, fluffy, and not weighed down with grease at all.  It does smell a little bit like vinegar (not attractive!) but they mentioned that you can add some essential oil to help with that and I’m also wondering if perhaps I did not rinse it entirely well enough.  It does feel a little bit frizzy and dry right now, but still very soft to the touch.

235230

Author: goodcommon

I am a Certified Youth Yoga Instructor as well as a Certified Reiki Energy Therapy Practitioner. I received my B.A. in Psychology at LIU - Brooklyn Campus and my Master of Social Work Degree at Tulane University in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

