Good to Self, Good to Earth

trying on more healthy ways of being, day by day

Day 2 – The “No-Poo” Method

Leave a comment

This is Day 2 of my process.

So far today has been a lot like yesterday except that I used 1 full Tbsp of Baking soda (plus 1 cup warm water) and 1 Tbsp of Cider Vinegar (plus one cup of water) rather than a little less than that each time.  So far so good!

My hair was quite literally “squeaky clean” after the baking soda got rinsed out! Then the vinegar definitely softened things up after that but I immediately came to realize that I will need to find my wide-toothed comb ASAP because my hair is clearly not going to get that strange doll-like silky smoothness when wet anymore the way it did with regular conditioner.  –which is fine, because that always felt pretty unnatural to me, like i was incapable of rinsing all of the product out no matter how long i stayed there..

I stopped brushing my hair a long time ago for two reasons:
1. Because it was such a torturous experience from my childhood
2. Because when i did stop, i realized i really just didnt need to brush it at all and it still wouldn’t ever get tangled (perhaps a gift from God for all of the suffering that i had previously endured…)

But alas!  I shall start again!

Now that it’s dry my hair feels a bit less dry than it did yesterday but still soft and fluffy and it is definitely more shiny and happy looking.  I also took more time to rinse after each application and now it doesn’t smell like vinegar anymore!  (Thank God!)
In fact!  A friend who I ate dinner with said that it smelled really nice, like a good shampoo!   Wahoo!!

201850

Author: goodcommon

I am a Certified Youth Yoga Instructor as well as a Certified Reiki Energy Therapy Practitioner. I received my B.A. in Psychology at LIU - Brooklyn Campus and my Master of Social Work Degree at Tulane University in New Orleans.

Leave a comment