Good to Self, Good to Earth

trying on more healthy ways of being, day by day

Day 3 – The “No Poo” Method

Leave a comment

One quick point that I want to make before I forget:
I have also been trying to switch to washing my hair and body with cool water rather than steamy hot water (which is really hard right now because its a chilly winter!) but I’ve heard its much better for our hair and skin to wash in cool water, and it just makes sense.

So today was another good day, with hair once again looking and feeling quite clean.  It is still feeling a bit fluffy and frizzy, but getting softer by the day.  In addition, after the baking soda today, it was beginning to feel a bit waxy when wet and after the vinegar I could tell that I needed to brush it right away to avoid tangles.  I brought a plastic travel hairbrush into he shower with me and combed it through as I rinsed out the vinegar solution which seemed to work quite well.

Another quick point that I wanted to make since the beginning is that people might be concerned about what happens if you get any of this stuff in the mouth or eyes during the process.  So far I think I’ve gotten both solutions in both places, though just a little bit, and I just try to keep eyes closed throughout and then rinse before I open them.  As for the mouth, if you’ve ever washed your mouth with Baking Soda (like they did in the old days) you will know that it tastes a little salty and is not the worst thing in the world –in fact it will be good for your teeth if you get some in there anyhow!!   Obviously the vinegar tastes much like vinegar but because it is Apple Cider Vinegar (and its also watered down quite a bit) its really not as offensive as we might have imagined, so you don’t have to worry too much about that part.

233611

Author: goodcommon

I am a Certified Youth Yoga Instructor as well as a Certified Reiki Energy Therapy Practitioner. I received my B.A. in Psychology at LIU - Brooklyn Campus and my Master of Social Work Degree at Tulane University in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

