Good to Self, Good to Earth

trying on more healthy ways of being, day by day

Day 24 of The “No-Poo” Method

Leave a comment

Well, I have now been washing with just water for the past seven days already and I am neither disgusting nor am I dead.

My hair is definitely more curly than it used to be when I would wash it every day with shampoo and it is also more oily, but I’m really not dissatisfied at all, and I don’t think anyone who I meet even suspects that I have given up shampoo.  I am brushing it every day and also still brushing it in the shower after I scrub my scalp vigorously with my fingertips, but I have not had any issues with tangles or matting thus far.

And to be honest, when it comes to the increased oil in my hair, it actually isn’t so bad and is starting to feel a lot more normal to me.  Its as if I’m realizing that my hair is supposed to feel like a living extension of myself, rather than like the silky / stringy barbie doll hair that I got so used to playing with as a child.

I also must say that I am really excited at how quickly my hair is growing, both in thickness and in length!  This is probably mostly due to how much more attention i am putting into brushing and massaging the scalp on a daily basis, but it probably is only helped by the fact that i gave up those nasty chemicals!

You can see for yourself with this photo, but I’d say that I’m in pretty good shape as of now.  (Still one more week of washing with JUST WATER though, so we’ll see if my attitude adjusts at all over the next few days.)

005825

Author: goodcommon

I am a Certified Youth Yoga Instructor as well as a Certified Reiki Energy Therapy Practitioner. I received my B.A. in Psychology at LIU - Brooklyn Campus and my Master of Social Work Degree at Tulane University in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

