Good to Self, Good to Earth

trying on more healthy ways of being, day by day

Chickpea Stew

Leave a comment

This is a delicious one-pot stew that my stepmother introduced me to and I just love to make.  It’s got an Indian vibe but it is definitely not too overwhelming when it comes to the curry flavor.  It is not too heavy and has beautiful colors with the golden broth and bright green kale (I will be sure to add a picture next time I make it).

Adds up to about 6-8 servings.

Part I
3 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 medium onions – thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves – finely minced
2 or 3 celery stalks – thinly sliced
1/4 tsp Curry Powder
1/2 tsp Turmeric
1 tsp Garam Masala
1 Tbsp Tomato Paste
Saute, stirring frequently, in a large soup pot until veggies are tender and translucent (about 8-10 mins)

Part II
4 cans chick peas – drained and rinsed well
8 c water
8 tsp “Better than Bouillon” (I prefer vegetable based, but chicken is also fine.)
Add to the pot and simmer for about 5 minutes

Part III
1/2 lb Kale or Collard Greens – coarsely chopped
Add and simmer another 5 minutes

Author: goodcommon

I am a Certified Youth Yoga Instructor as well as a Certified Reiki Energy Therapy Practitioner. I received my B.A. in Psychology at LIU - Brooklyn Campus and my Master of Social Work Degree at Tulane University in New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

